These discerning Destructoid readers have had a lot of upset me in the past for recency bias appearing in numerous ranked lists. In fact, I really want to play more new releases than the older ones, and I also like to enjoy them more. Of course this isn’t moral failure, but it’s a little hard to understand. I’m the kind of person who has a big interest finding out why things are the way they are. Anthropologically, I am fascinated by older games. I love seeing seeds of great franchises and I love to study design trends from their beginning. That means I want to play old games.

What am I going to do with this?

Put a bow on 2022, it’s done. The new year is over, and the time lapses. What’s my story? I’m going to play many games that I’ve gone. Titles that I was too young for release, titles that arrived before I was around to play them, and titles that just don’t seem to be attractive. I’ll learn design languages that have outpaced games. I will find the fun, come hell or even the low water. In some areas, that’ll be easy. Each year, I consider it wise to be a point of going through an older franchise, with the new opening coming. Although measurants want studios to keep their reputation for gaining a reputation for successful ideas and properties and not for coming up with original concepts this year, that particular strategy exposed me to a mess of games that I wouldn’t otherwise have played. adv 2022 was the year that I finally played theSouls games (I’m aware that Im stretching the definition of old a bit butDemons Souls has been 13 years ago). It’s truly a remarkably good series. But it’s better if you wish to include a handful of structurally similar fromSoftware games under the umbrella. I also played the phenomenally funny The Secret of Monkey Island for the first time, and I took a quick look at the original Advance Wars and then shot them.

Where you go to come in.

2023 will bring a lot of franchise entries. I imagine that I’ll spend a lot of time searching for the annals of Armored Core history, to understand why my family is terribly pumped. Maybe I will finally check out Dwight Fighter and the Diablo box. But I want to play games. I wasn’t thinking about it. And, obviously, it’s difficult to think of something I don’t think about. Your dear readers are here. I want to play your favorite older games. Do you have a long memory of a game played in decades? Please tell me about them. You first tested ancient books in 2022? I would love to play them. Are there some that you wanted to go to for ages? I want to make a stop for this adventure. Please send me a message. Tell me what games you see as foundational to the medium, or just what you really love. I am at my best.