Rekkles has recently moved to Karmine Corp (KC) in the French LFL a tier below the LEC, where he was previously competing with G2 Esports. Rekkles is a jersey number 8, part of that relationship. But why does the number look so crazy? Speaking in an interview with the French LEC host Lauree Valee, Rekkles said: “When I grew up and played football, my idol was Steven Gerrard from Liverpool. That guy was me! I loved every thing he stood for, everything he played for, he was very stoic. He felt so loyal and he had just a good aura around him. I was waiting for it, despite playing that game I decided to pick his number 8 instead of the number eight mark. Young Rekkles are wearing football shirts for number 8 players. Rekkles continued: I haven’t seen an eye on my jersey, not once, so this was my first chance, and I felt like it was a perfect opportunity to begin doing something differently this time. It’s a perfect chance to bring back that young Martin. I want to become a new player in a country with great energy, which motivates his team forward. I have not done it so much in the past couple of years, so I feel like I can be that guy. I want to become Steven Gerrard for my team. Cabochard, the captain of the KC division, would like the other captain to serve as the head of the team that has a good aura in the team. I really want to be this guy. When I was a great player and play football, my idol was Steven Gerrard from Liverpool. That guy’s mine. I loved everything he stood for, how he played, how he was on camera, and was very stoic. Rekkles, Karmine Corp. Rekkles has had a tough year. Rekkles moved to G2 in 2021 with the intention of winning Worlds, but G2 failed to qualify for Worlds this year (Mad Lions won back to back LEC titles in 2021) and Rekkles was expelled by the organisation so he can play in the lower-tier LFL European Regional League for 2022. Rekkles also told Laure that hes planning to stay with KC before trying to return to the LEC as a more complete player and person. Would Stevie G be happy that he inspired one of the best known players of the League of Legends in Europe? Esports News asked Rekkles during his early career for his advice to improve if he succeeds in the game.