If you didn’t watch the live letter now, you saw the bad news. Final Fantasy XIV: Endwalker was barely approaching, and then it became worse, two weeks later, so now it’s not coming out until December 3rd. All right, at the time of the release day is December 7th. However, it is true that everybody reading this can play in a time of early access, so the date of release is the day when early access starts. This filled me and I suspect that many of my readers have emotional emotions. And a lot of the emotions are lost when you consider it a lot, especially the way it was communicated. Hence today I want to check through those, and to see if the whole thing is bigger. Because yes, there aren’t any two ways to do that, that’s kind of a big disappointment. Here’s the thing that I think we should all consider: we are all different, and this expansion also means different things to us all. And two weeks can mean something very different depending on the place where you reside. I want to discourage this because, well, there is a misconception over perception that sometimes gets mixed up into the community, and its premise that was in all the same place in our need and so forth. At this point my life is fine, but there are times in my life where two weeks might have been two months and even now, being typing this, I have trouble studying my brain and my mental health and working order. It’s just two weeks for some. For some people, it’s a very terrible delay. And I think it’s important to notice that emotional spectrum, because we all live different places in the world. Even though the community is full of people, it says that only two weeks have been gone. Remember that your feelings are valid in the devastated town. I think the implication of a little time is important. Me? I’m really upset about the delay. But I want to note something of big importance that happened, not upset with the development team. It is important to think about what was wrong and who is responsible. There are lots of good reasons people are upset. As far as the emotional issues that I talked about, there are people with jobs where time off can be moved once taken, people who had scheduled other events contingent on the planned launch, and just people who really had planned the releasing on the announced date. That’s a delay. We’re not able to handle it and it’s sucking. There is nothing I can hear. At the same time, this isn’t a rule, but a rule, no matter how far. It’s really, really uncommon for an announcement date to be moved back to the game like this. There’s a reason why Yoshida personally apologized for it, but for both the formal announcement and the stream, and whether you believe that the man is genuinely sorry, or you have the cynical belief that mostly it happened to his image, the reality remains it happened. It’s time to put the delay on. They suck. Good studios do their best to avoid them. FFXIV has a very large pipeline and generally avoids delays, but at this expansion cycle we had to swallow three of them; two of them directly related to the global pandemic thats affected the whole world. You know, the pandemic Yoshida could’ve blamed but very explicitly didn’t. I want to look at it. Yoshida could easily say the delay was due to the pandemic issue. She didn’t win. He said his decision influenced him to decide whether he took a shortcut to time in development and would have liked that. The phrase please forgive my selfish decision. These are not the actions of anybody who seeks to give blame. With Yoshidas’ own statements, the man responsible is his. He isn’t because he’s at fault. Since all of us value, the facts in which we know are that: Yoshida wanted to make this expansion look appropriately large and impressive, and finally, had a meal time that would otherwise be used for final balance checks. As soon as he had the option of rushing the checks and doing them properly, he chose the latter. That put him down with a delay. Is that fault-worthy? I don’t think that he is personally. I think we all went to positions where we had to decide a decision between doing the job correctly and taking longer, and to doing it right by chance, and I think that the reason we already know about Yoshida is that they would rather accept the shame of delay than put out something that hadn’t been fully checked. Heck, some people even speculated something Raubahn EX-style was found late in the checks. I think we would all prefer to not have that mucking up the experience. Because of this, I’m not blaming the development team. I don’t hate them. I’m upset at it, but I think that this can be done by developers doing something stupid or put a release off so they don’t really resolve the real problems that will soon be apparent. There’s a benefit of doubt in this case. Heck, I wonder how it would make crunch a bit worse. Yoshida also addressed the matter before but it is a thing I’m happy to repeat. This team works very hard on this game. If it can’t be avoided, we wouldn’t want to overtake them. Should the options be delayed, fewer checks or crunch? We should be happy that crunch wasn’t on the table. It is even more likely that if you were sad about that, it would not be the worst. This is a disappointment and for some reading this about it might be a big one. If that is the big game release youre looking forward to the next few months, this is a big deal, and that means you’ll be in the midst of an emotionally fragile moment, and you will be able to do that too? Yes, it only sucks up. My anger is valid. You shouldn’t pretend you were upset about that. It’s impossible to get upset about this, and I think we’re both upset at a team for it. I don’t think anybody ought to hold the former against you, but it’s another story. Not everything needs to have someone to blame, even if that seems cathartic. Plus, you know, I have enough side-eyes right now allowing the largest business side of Square-Enix to listen to the NFT. Seriously, sorry, folks. (I know, large companies must have people who look into these things and look into it to see if money is worth making. We don’t look up yet. Again, feedback is welcome in the comments below or via email at [email protected] Next week, let’s talk about the actual contents of the letter, well content. This is about how the feast was always sad. The Nymian civilization hosted vast amount of knowledge and learning, but it is not for the Eorzea people who lost it. That doesn’t stop Eliot Lefebvre from reading Fiveth of the Second World Wars every week in Wisdom of Nym, while he gives live commentary, discussion and opinion, without a noticeable recollection of runningcor.